An Oklahoma lease agreement is a document that outlines the terms for a landlord renting a property to their tenants.
This agreement should include identifying information about the tenant and landlord, a legal description of the property, pet prohibitions, health/safety considerations, and rent payment details. Once a landlord and tenant agree to the terms, both parties can sign the document into effect.
By Type (6)
Rent Control: No
Limit on Late Fees: No
Late Fees in Rental Agreement: No
Grace Period: No
License Required for Landlord: No
Required Lease Disclosures
According to the Oklahoma Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, here are the following disclosures a landlord has to make to prospective tenants:
- Disclosure of Flood Hazard Area. Whether the property has experienced flooding within the last five years (41 OK Stat § 113a).
- Notice of Illegal Substance Contamination. Whether the property was a previous site of methamphetamine production (41 OK Stat § 118(C)).
- Identification. The name and address of anyone with permission to enter the property, including owners and managers (41 OK Stat § 116).
- Disclosure of Lead-Based Hazards. All Oklahoma landlords of any building constructed before 1978 must notify all tenants of the potential existence of lead-based hazards. (Title 42 U.S. Code § 4852(d))
Oklahoma landlord-tenant law does not impose a limit on how much a landlord may request from a tenant for a security deposit.
Landlords are required to keep any security deposits in a separate escrow bank account that the State of Oklahoma maintains, but they don’t have to pay interest to the tenant. A landlord must return any security deposit to the tenant within 45 days of the end of the tenancy (41 OK Stat § 115).
Landlord Right of Entry
Oklahoma landlords are required to give tenants one day’s notice before entering the premises. This includes entry for maintenance and repair purposes, and the landlord must only enter at reasonable times. In cases of emergency, landlords are allowed to enter the premises without giving a tenant advanced notice (41 Ok Stat § 128).
Small Claims Court
A tenant can sue a landlord in small claims court for failing to pay their security deposit back, but the amount may not exceed more than $10,000 (12 OK Stat § 1751).
View our Oklahoma lease agreement template below. You can download it as a PDF or Word file and customize it to meet your desired rental conditions and terms: