A Wyoming lease agreement is a document you can use to rent out your property to a tenant. It creates a binding relationship between you and the tenant so they pay on time and abide by your established rules.
Within a lease agreement, you should include both parties’ names and addresses, the property’s address, pet allocations, health hazards, and rent payment details.
By Type (6)
Rent Control: No
Limit on Late Fees: No
Late Fees in Rental Agreement: Yes
Grace Period: No
License Required for Landlord: No
Required Lease Disclosures
- Lead-Paint Disclosure: A landlord should disclose whether a building was built before 1978 and provide materials on the risks of exposure to lead-based paint that these buildings may contain (42 U.S. Code § 4852d).
- Notice of Nonrefundable Deposit: A landlord must specify whether a deposit is nonrefundable in the lease agreement (WY Stat § 1-21-1207).
A landlord may request any amount of money as a security deposit from a tenant (No statute).
If there’s damage to the rental property and the landlord needs to retain the security deposit, they must return the remaining amount within 60 days of the end of the lease. Otherwise, a landlord must return the security deposit within thirty days (WY Stat § 1-21-1208).
Landlord Right of Entry
A landlord doesn’t need to provide prior notice before entering the rented property. It’s recommended to do so anyway (No statute).
A tenant shouldn’t deny reasonable entry, as they must allow the landlord to enter the property to show the property to prospective buyers, make repairs, or perform an inspection (WY Stat. § 1-21-1205).
Small Claims Court
If a tenant needs to sue a landlord in small claims court for an unreturned security deposit, they can do so for up to $6,000 (WY Stat § 1-21-201).
Review our Wyoming lease agreement template so you can start customizing your own: